jump to navigation

Busy, Busy, Busy December 2, 2010

Posted by Gomathi Reddy in Love and Life, Personal, Relationships.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

The really busy ones hardly seem to worry about not having time.  I seem to have all the time in the world to keep getting worried that I don’t have time to do the things I’d like to do.  Believe me, I am beginning to feel guilty about googling on vague things such as “the actual distance between tracks,” when I am supposed to be busy and doing something more useful than that.

I’ve kept away from many things that I feel are a waste of my time, just so that, I stay focused on whatever I like doing.  But whenever I get to meet people, and most of them invariably ask me, “what happened to you, you’ve gone missing?” I wonder if that has to be taken just as a courtesy comment that fits into our social parlance, or was I really active earlier, for them to miss my presence – either way I am stumped and my response is a typical –  “Oh, I was just too tied up with work!”

And what do think tied me up so much?  Writing those few MarCom and Content pieces, bothering a few of my team members with deadlines and reading all those books I managed to lay my hands on, meeting clients who are my bread and butter, and also finding time to play the many hats at home……Am I enjoying my work? Oh, yeah, I am!  But would I still call myself “busy?” Not at all!  I am never the busy types.  I need my space, I need my time to reflect upon things, I need to just listen – to people, to my purpose and to my soul.  I stay away from a few things, just to make time for these more important things in life. I believe I am prioritizing.

For my part, I know quite a few who are busy always, that they can’t keep their word on meetings, or calls or those ever so many things that make up the social fabric.  Since I am on the receiving end, I know I am sounding bitchy, but maybe they really are busy.  So what do you do when you get in touch with someone so busy?  Be courteous for a while, because you were brought up to believe in such values, and then just stop.  Stop all related activity with respect to them, and get back to your work.  And if and when you still get to hear them, just treat it as a call from a busy person.  With all due respect, keep it short and let them know that this call is important for you, and that’s it.

Do people really get busy? May be or may be not.  It is just that they have no intention to be available for you, maybe they too are prioritizing on what is more important for them.

So you see, they are just like you – Life comes a full circle!

Comments»

1. jim - January 12, 2011

good

2. sbadri - January 23, 2011

great reflection


Leave a Reply

